top of page

MISDEMEANORS

Misdemeanor offenses are the most common classification of crimes in Texas, but they shouldn't be taken lightly. Sometimes, misdemeanor charges can be enhanced into felonies. If you've been charged with a misdemeanor, start building your strongest defense today-- speak with the Devil.

TEXAS MISDEMEANOR CLASSIFICATIONS

CLASS "C"

Punishable with a fine of up to $500. These offenses carry no jail time.

Common examples include: theft <$100, disorderly conduct, and certain drug crimes.

CLASS "B"

Punishable with a fine up to $2,000 and up to 180 days of jail time.

Common examples include: indecent exposure, criminal mischief, and first-offense DWI.

CLASS "A"

Punishable with a fine up to $4,000 and up to one year of jail time.

Common examples include: assault, criminal trespass, and second-offense DWI.

TEXAS MISDEMEANOR CRIMES

Texas charges a given crime at either the misdemeanor or felony level. Misdemeanors are less-serious crimes that are typically less violent, result in less property damage, or otherwise don't rise to the level of felony offenses. Though misdemeanors are not the most serious crimes, they ought to be vigorously defended. Misdemeanor convictions result in a criminal record, and criminal records can have long-lasting negative impacts on employment, renting property, and other aspects of life. 

When considering punishment for a misdemeanor crime, the Court will take into account special sentencing requirements that correspond to the facts surrounding the case. For example:

  • Repeat offenders previously convicted of a Class A misdemeanor face a mandatory minimum sentencing of 90 days in jail for a new Class A misdemeanor offense. If the repeat offense is a Class B misdemeanor, the repeat offender faces a mandatory minimum sentence of 30 days.

  • For Class A misdemeanors (such as assault) motivated by bias or prejudice, punishment will include mandatory incarceration of 180 days.

  • If drugs ("controlled substances") were used to commit a Class A misdemeanor, punishment will include mandatory incarceration of 180 days.

Misdemeanor crimes can also be enhanced when the offense was made against a protected or vulnerable individual (such as a child or elderly person), when the offense occurred in the context of family violence, or when the offense was a "hate crime" motivated by bias or prejudice. For enhanced offenses, penalties often include mandatory minimum jail sentences or the level of the offense is raised.

Despite overall being less serious that felony charges, misdemeanor crimes still deserve a strong defense. Your criminal defense attorney can work to negotiate case dismissal, deferred adjudication, pre-trial diversion, community service, probation, and other relatively favorable outcomes.

Regardless of the charge or the possible penalty, your case deserves the best defense. If you're facing criminal charges in the Dallas-Fort Worth metro area (DFW) or the Austin area (ATX), contact Diablita Criminal Defense, PLLC today at (512) 838-3442 to speak with la Diablita herself, or arrange a FREE phone consultation by emailing us at info@DiablitaCriminalDefense.com.

LET DIABLITA DEFEND YOU.

Get in touch to speak with the Devil and start building your strongest defense.

  • Instagram

Thanks for submitting!

DISCLAIMER: THE USE OF THE INTERNET OR THIS FORM FOR COMMUNICATION WITH THE FIRM OR ANY INDIVIDUAL MEMBER OF THE FIRM DOES NOT ESTABLISH AN ATTORNEY-CLIENT RELATIONSHIP. CONFIDENTIAL OR TIME-SENSITIVE INFORMATION SHOULD NOT BE SENT THROUGH THIS FORM.
bottom of page